Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7  Previous   Next
Can this be done?...
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMarcCastermans
Registered: March 15, 2007
Posts: 116
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Can some of you freaks upload a layout where this is fully functional?
Greetz,
Marc Castermans

DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,432
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Marc, it really isn't very hard.

This is the code I use now:
Quote:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
<DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False">
//-->

function showEPG() {
  var epg = (DP_ProgramPathImages + "epg/" + DP_UPC + ".html");
  var notes = DP_Notes.indexOf("epg=1");
  if (notes !=-1) {
  window.location.href= epg;
  }
  else {
  document.write("No EPG available.");
  }
}
</SCRIPT>
</HEAD>
<BODY onload="showEPG()">
</BODY>
</HTML>

Copy all of that. Then go to View|HTML Windows|Edit.
In the Edit window click on the New button (third from left, looks like a sheet of paper). Remove all the code in that and paste the code inside. Click OK.

Now you have a HTML Window under View|HTML Windows which you can activate and place in a location of your liking. At this point you should also save the current layout, as otherwise you'll loose the window once you select another layout (trust me, I've been through that and you don;t want to follow the above instructions several time).

Then create a folder names "epg" under the Images folder, giving you
\DVD Profiler\Images\epg

From here in you'll have to do by yourself anyway

Put the HTML code that is currently in a Notes field into an empty TXT file, rename it to <UPC>.html and place it in the epg folder.
EDIT:
For profiles for from regions/localities other than the US, the file name needs to be:
<UPC>.<Locality>.html
The list of locality codes can be found here.

Now you could remove the HTML code from the Notes field. Instead, you'll put "<epg=1>" inside; the brackets will allow the code to stay invisible.

Done. When you select the profile with the epg it will appear in the assigned window.


If you still need further help or me sending you my layout (I don;t feel this needs to be uploaded at this point), please PM me or drop a mail.
Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan.
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
 Last edited: by nuoyaxin
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRossRoy
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 793
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Now that's how I like the epg! I refrained from using it because I didn't like having them in the notes field. But now, with HTML Windows ...

One question though: Do they get backed up by Profiler's backup function?

I know the layouts, translations, reports and flag sets don't get backed up (which puzzles me, I think they should be included, but that's another fight ), but would the EPG being in the images folder get included in the backup?
 Last edited: by RossRoy
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,432
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have never tried that, but I I would think that only the Images and thumbnail folders are backed up, not any other folders in that structure. I am certain that in 2.4 it was in that way. So, you'll still need to back those EPGs up yourself.
Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan.
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRossRoy
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 793
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ya_shin:
Quote:
I have never tried that, but I I would think that only the Images and thumbnail folders are backed up, not any other folders in that structure. I am certain that in 2.4 it was in that way. So, you'll still need to back those EPGs up yourself.


Well, at least I now know

And here comes a new SyncBackSE profile!
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAddicted2DVD
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 17,311
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Well.. this sucks... I was playing around with the layout to see if I wanted anything different... in the middle of playing with it my profiler did an error and closed on me... when I got it back open my Episode Guide Tab was gone... and when I went to view ->HTML Window... it wasn't listed no longer... so I now have to remake the window! 
Pete
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantxyrano
41215.reg 70320.urk
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 646
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
If you saved your layout after you added the tab, shouldn't it come back if you load it again?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAddicted2DVD
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 17,311
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
well... I would think so... but I forgot to save it after I added the tab. but was no problem re adding it... only took a few seconds... and all is fixed.
Pete
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantxyrano
41215.reg 70320.urk
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 646
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting SH84:
Quote:
Perhaps we could use your suggestion in another way:

The HTML Window loads a blank page with an Iframe of the EPG.
If the EPG does not exist (check the address of the Iframe after we called the EPG -> error page), we go to the "NoEPG"-Page.
If the EPG exists, go to the EPG page.

Yes well... after my previous blunder I thought, why shouldn't that work!? Somehow! Now, I've got it to work just as you describe    Finally! 
Getting to that error page wasn't easy, I had to access it via DOM, but I nailed it down.
I even put in a static footer with links to the source. (#, A, B ... X). 

I have an idea about a way for the user to decide if to look for/load the epg or not. The way it is done now is via the notes field (epg=1), but what if we could use a TAG instead. I think that would work! Sounds good? Hmmm, I just got inspired 
Add a tag, flag all your tv series, flagged -> edit tag, set. ...and off you go, WOW!!!
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorNewEnglander
Registered: 11/13/2003
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,911
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
All my TV series are tagged. How would you implement this change to rid the notes field of epg=1?
Signature banned: Reason out of date...
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantxyrano
41215.reg 70320.urk
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 646
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The tags that are checked can be accessed via the HEADER_VARS variable (or whatever it is).
Ken has be kind and included the personal tags in an array that is written as javascript.
A for loop, could go through it for a matching string the user has defined in the epg page.
If a exact match is found, then it would attempt to load the epg.

I'm going to try it tomorrow.
 Last edited: by xyrano
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantzefeer
Registered: 10.02.2004
Registered: March 19, 2007
Portugal Posts: 93
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
good evening everyone.
i've been trying this feature for a while this night and nothing.
i followed all tips from ya_shin latest post... and nothing.
i get this "This program cannot display the webpage"

can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong?
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantxyrano
41215.reg 70320.urk
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 646
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
After following ya_shin's post: Are you sure you have the correct file-type of the epg file you are trying to include? Must be a .htm or a .html, if I'm not mistaken (I've noticed that some of the epg's come in .txt format). How about the filename, is that spot-on?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,432
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting xyrano:
Quote:
After following ya_shin's post: Are you sure you have the correct file-type of the epg file you are trying to include? Must be a .htm or a .html, if I'm not mistaken (I've noticed that some of the epg's come in .txt format). How about the filename, is that spot-on?

Well, for the code as in my post, it need to be .html. The reason is the variable:
var epg = (DP_ProgramPathImages + "epg/" + DP_UPC + ".html");

If you'd want to be able to store .htm and .txt as well, you'd have to change the code accordingly, making it unnecessarily longer, I think. Simplest is to just rename the files to the same extension.

BTW, I made a small edition to my description above, as filenames for other localities need to be different.
Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan.
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
 Last edited: by nuoyaxin
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantzefeer
Registered: 10.02.2004
Registered: March 19, 2007
Portugal Posts: 93
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
This is how i'm doing it.
First copy the ya_shin code, remove the codes and paste it to the html window.
The click ok. The html window is available.
Then i copy the epg in the notes tab to a txt doc and save it as html with the upc.
After this i put the html file in the epg folder under tghe images subfolder.
Finally clear the epg in the notes tab and put this code in it "<epg=1>" .

So is there anything wrong? Because<i'm still getting nothing in the epg tab.
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,432
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting zefeer:
Quote:
So is there anything wrong? Because<i'm still getting nothing in the epg tab.

What you are doing seems fine.

A few mentions, from what I have learned while helping another user via PM:
Filenames may have to include the locality number (added that to the above post).
The folder for the EPGs must be below the Images folder (\Images\epg) and in lower case!
Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan.
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7  Previous   Next